It’s my birthday and i wish i was in Thailand

foto1 edit

Hello people!

This week’s post is a little late because yesterday was my birthday and i was celebrating with my BF here in NYC and Hernan via FaceTime. God bless 21st century technology.

Last week we did something super special ! Hernan and i cooked together for the first time ¬†It was super fun! . You can check the pics of his successful dish ūüėČ

I’ve been thinking a lot about travels and the nomad life i wanna have¬†, at least for a while, remembering all¬†the places i have visited and also thinking about all the places i still don’t know and wanna go. Since i’m a little kid ¬†i’ve wanted to go to Thailand. I didn’t even knew where Thailand was. To me this was always a mysterious exotic land, elephants and hidden beaches i have to visit before i die, (I’m sure Leo DiCaprio made us all think about Thailand even once). But there’s also food !¬†and i can’t help thinking about Thai curry. So this week we did that.

There are probably more authentic Tai dishes¬†, but for someone who never cooked with coconut milk before¬†(Hernan) this was quiete a journey, and it’s a classic dish in my life. It’s super easy and you can use any veggies you have on the fridge. you could also add some animal protein, but give veggie dishes a chance in your life ūüėȬ†.

This are the ingredients you’ll need:

Coconut Thai Veggie Curry

Serves 4

Main ingredients:

1 cup broccoli stalks

2 medium carrots, diced (i never peel carrots but i wash them really good)

2 medium onion, diced

2 red and green peppers, chopped

1 cup toasted cashew nuts, or peanuts

a bunch of chopped fresh cilantro leaves

1 cup of mixed grains. We used brown rice, wild rice and 3 color quinoa

3 tsp toasted sesame seed, for garnish

3 cups coconut milk

neutral vegetable oil (don’t use olive oil)

salt and pepper to taste

For the curry paste:

2 garlic cloves

1 piece of fresh ginger

3 tsp of curry powder  ( i used a medium hot one)

1 tsp turmeric powder

1 lemon, zest and juice

Preparation:  

1. Bring a large pot of water to boil, add salt and the rice and quinoa mix. cook for 20 min., drain and reserve.

2. Mix all the ingredients for the curry paste in a small blender, until you get a thick paste texture. You can also grate the ingredients to create a paste.

3. To make the curry, warm a large skillet with deep sides over medium heat. Once it‚Äôs hot, add 2 tablespoons of oil, add the curry paste and cook until your whole kitchen smells like a exotic land, add the broccoli, carrots, peppers, onions ¬†and cook them till they’re fork tender ( i like my veggies crunchy), add the coconut milk and simmer for about 5 – 10 minutes. Add the cashew nuts. Divide rice and curry into bowls and garnish with chopped cilantro and toasted sesame seed. You can add chopped chili peppers or chili flakes if you like it spicy ūüėČ

Enjoy !

I would love to hear from you. If you make any recipe in this blog please let me know how it goes !

This is my curry, which i ate with my BF Yashira:

foto 2 edit

And this is Hernan’s dish ! (pretty awesome right?)

foto moya

This week’s movie is a movie i love with all my heart. It’s from a Thai¬†director (to keep with the Thai theme) and this is Hernan review:

14191856_1176588025730911_406101058_o

*still picture Рall rights reserved  www.imbd.com

Talking with ¬†Mariana, she told me about her taste for films, in which, she said, ‚ÄúNothing happens‚ÄĚ.I , staunch defender of genre film , with structures , presentation of characters , leit motives, plot twists and many other things , I met the most amazing girl in the world but she loves movies where ” nothing happens”. If that is not a paradox , I do not know what else can be. That was not the most shocking. A couple of days later, she admitted to having never seen “Rocky” . What to do? Run away in terror or try to understand what she enjoys in those films where ” nothing happens” ? I obviously opted for option two and asked her to recommend a movie to write my first review . Within minutes , I was downloading “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” of Thai, Apichatpong Weerasethakul. The title presaged magical realism – perhaps the worst word used after love – and previous filmography of the director told me that this would be an inaccessible and experimental film. Oh, the things you do for love, right?
The film tells the story of Uncle Boonmee , who suffers from acute kidney failure and decides to end his days among his people in the field. Surprisingly, the ghost of his dead wife and his missing son appear to him to accompany. Contemplating the reasons for his illness, Boonmee goes through the jungle with his family to reach a cave on top of a hill , where he first came to the world.
The first thing that happened to me was to enter into a state of relaxation . The film encourages it . It is part of the process and the implicit agreement that the viewer does with the director.¬†I was soon attracted by what was happening on screen but equally I immersed myself in a heady feeling ¬†difficult to explain in words . After seeing it, looking for some information about the movie , I read the statements of Tim Burton who defined it as a ” strange and pleasant sleep ” . Burton ‘s prize it with the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival a few years ago . There I understood that what happened to me was not because of fatigue or mental stunning for the flu i’m incubating, but is a general feeling for people facing the film.
The first fifteen minutes tried ¬†to find a classical structure , a clear conflict of turns and points at times when they should fall. The experience from that point of view was frustrating. But then I remembered the words of my film teacher ” Feel, then think”. And that was how I began to enjoy it. Because that is “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives”.¬†To let go through that journey that we parallel with the protagonist. The film is not simplistic or anything, in fact is full of cultural and spiritual references and has a dark tone. The sound design is incredibly powerful and the most amazing thing is that is nourished by the sounds of nature to make us surrender to the powers of the primary.¬†
Something as with the so-called brain orgasms or ASMR . Basic elements that generate sensations linked to the primary comfort. Naturally. To childhood or the capriciousness of memory. Everything we find in this unusual film.
It is the work of a filmmaker with ancient wisdom playing with the possibilities of modern art.
I’m still loving “Rocky” and its classic and predictable structure, but from now on , when someone tells me that “nothing happens in a movie” ¬†I’ll take my doubt ¬†away watching it.

Love

Hernan

Leave a Reply

